To collect, preserve, and interpret the heritage of Fillmore County.


The Fillmore County Historical Society was formed in 1934 as an independent non-profit organization.  In the late 1940s our original museum was located in the Mills home in Preston.  As our collection grew, we transferred location several times until coming to roost in the basement of the courthouse for many years. Twenty-five years ago we were offered larger quarters in the old elementary school in Fountain.  Please stop in to visit us at our museum complex which has grown to consist of a main exhibit arena with two connected pole buildings, a country school house, and airplane hangar.  Our genealogy and research center is one of the best organized and extensive local history libraries in the State of Minnesota.  We invite you to get to know us better and we do hope you’ll come to love the area we call home sweet Fillmore County.




Sara Sturgis, Executive Director  |  sara@fillmorecountyhistory.org
Bretta Grabau, Assistant Director  |  bretta@fillmorecountyhistory.org

507-268-4449  |  202 County Road 8, Fountain MN, 55935


President: Richard Petsch, Preston
Vice President: Norleen Cooke, Preston
Secretary: Melissa VanderPlas, Harmony
Treasurer: Tyler Nielsen, Chatfield

District Representatives

District 1: John Glady, Wykoff

District 2: Gail Barnard-Boyum, Peterson

District 3: Gretchen Mensink-Lovejoy, Spring Valley

District 4: Josh Krage, Preston

District 5  Vacant

Members At Large:
Sally Jeske, Wykoff
Rich Bottorff, Wykoff
Sherry Hanson, Choice

County Commissioner Appointee:
Duane Bakke